New Shop in Decatur: Green Mosaic

The only thing I love more than a new restaurant opening in Decatur is a new shop opening. So when Lauren told me that her boss told her that she saw a new boutique called Green Mosaic on East Ponce de Leon Ave., I rushed over to check it out.

Green Mosaic just opened on Tuesday right next to Oh! La-La in the Renaissance building at 224 E. Ponce de Leon Avenue (map). As you can see in the window photo above (apart from my reflection – whoops), the shop carries items that are organic, recycled, fair trade and eco-friendly.

Some of my favorite items were the brightly colored reusable shopping bags, the fair trade picture frames from a company based in Moultrie, GA, and the dresses made out of bamboo material.

There’s a whole corner of the shop devoted to kids stuff – adorable baby clothes and toys. I love the puppets (pictured below) made out of old sweaters. No two puppets are alike.

Green Mosaic also carries lotions and creams made from organic olive oil and eco-friendly house products.

I ended up buying this Dooty Bags container for my friend – well, my friend’s dog really. You can’t see the bags in the photo, but they are rolled up in the container that can be clipped on to a leash. It’s so much cuter than the generic ones you can get at the pet store.

Gigi, the owner, was so friendly and said she’s working on a Green Mosaic website. I’ll link it here as soon as it’s live. The shop is open Monday-Thursday 11 a.m. to 7 p.m., Friday-Saturday 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. and closed on Sunday.

I’m sure I’ll be back soon. That red dress is calling my name!

About asiancajuns

www.asiancajuns.com
This entry was posted in Food & Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Shop in Decatur: Green Mosaic

  1. Pingback: Green Mosaic Now Open « The Decatur Minute

  2. Parker Cross says:

    I look forward to checking this out! I have a niece and a nephew who will go for those puppets.
    Here’s a shopping scoop: I hear that the shop formally known as Nest at the Collective is moving to Decatur. Here’s a link to the announcement on FB. http://on.fb.me/kypgbM

  3. Catherine says:

    Thanks for the tip! I can’t wait until Nest opens!

  4. amy greir says:

    I absolutely love this shop. The sales clerk was very helpful and sincerely seem to be passionate about eco friendly, locally made, recycled, organic products. I will do all of my holiday shopping there!

  5. Pingback: Turn DecatuRED: Green Mosaics « 50 cents. Period.

Leave a Reply

