Local Girl Makes Good on HuffPo

I need to tell you all about my Decatur friend, musician, poker buddy and electrician, Lenny Lasater.  She’s in a blue grass band called Roxie Watson.  A few days ago their story was picked up by the Huffington Post.   Check it out!  Amazing story!   Wow, Roxie Watson hit the big time!  I want to give a shout out to my friend Robert George for breaking this story locally.

Here’s a sample of what the Huffington Post by author Georgianne Nienaber says about the group, but click on the link to get the full story and some videos of the band in action, and their backgrounds . . . . great read!

“Roxie Watson is a five-piece string band from Atlanta that plays, what they like to call, “alterna-grass.” It mixes traditional three and four part harmonies, elements of old country, Appalachian music, hymns and bluegrass. The band likes to say that they don’t adhere to “the traditions of any one genre,” but the way they mix it up with mandolin, bass, acoustic and electric guitars, lap steel, button accordion and harmonica — adds to, rather than detracts from, the traditional sounds of “pure” bluegrass.

The audience loved it. These women are more than proficient as musicians, have a warm way with a story, and a natural stage banter, that comes from a long history of friendship and community. The stage morphs into a back porch with the audience becoming honored guests in an intimate setting that is a heck of a lot of fun, heartwarming, and heartrending when it needs to be. The front row at the community theater was close enough to the stage that audience members’ knees and boots were resting on the apron.”

First, if you want to hear some great bluegrass music, check out Lenny’s band, Roxie Watson. Lenny is the bass player and sings.   Great musicianship and vocals.   Roxie Watson is scheduled to play the Decatur Concerts on the Square on May 21st and then appear at Eddie’s Attic on August 27th and December 3rd.

Secondly, if you play poker, (like I have) don’t play with Lenny.  She will take your chips.   I’d trust her running an electrical circuit and her taste in music, but I wouldn’t trust her poker face when I pushed all my chips in.  I speak of experience.  Back away from the table.  

Third,  if you need electrical work in Decatur, look up Lenny who is a certified electrician and does awesome work at “friend” prices.   When I bought an HD LCD TV, I’d heard they draw a lot of heat. Anyway, living in a 1960s house, I figured I needed a separate circuit to run that sucker.  Called Lenny, who hooked me up and was courageous enough to enter my basement (scary) to wire the circuit.  Little did I know she was one of the first female coal miners in Alabama.  Sheesh, if I knew that I would have had her water proof my basement . . that’s another story.  What’s amazing is I’ve known Lenny for years but never knew she was a coal miner in Alabama once upon a time.   

Another example of great music in our community by one of our own.

This entry was posted in Arts Scene, Community, Cultural Tourism, Events, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Local Girl Makes Good on HuffPo

  1. Nonie Ravenberg says:

    Thanks, Bill! Can’t wait to check this band out May 21!

Leave a Reply

