A day with my daughter

As a busy mom of two kids under the age of five, plus working a more than full-time job, it isn’t often that I get to spend quality time with each of my kids on their own. Try as I might, it seems like there is always a birthday party, a work event, or some other reason why we can’t slow down.

But last Saturday, I got the chance to spend time with my daughter, Molly, without cell phones,  meetings, or her little brother.

We headed into downtown Decatur and made three stops. First, a quick bang trim at Salon Red Kids. I have blogged before that I think this is one of the best deals in town. For $5 you get a friendly, professional cut, a happy kid who gets to watch Disney movies while she gets her hair done, and a lollypop when its all over. Plus, she doesn’t end up looking like “that kid” whose mom decided she could trim her bangs herself.

Molly's freshly trimmed bangs

Molly’s freshly trimmed bangs

Next, we took a brisk walk down to Mellow Mushroom to fulfill Molly’s request for pizza. The kids menu is the jam- tons of options including French bread pizza, giant dough pretzels, meatballs stuffed with cheese, or mac and cheese. All come with apples or broccoli and a drink, and wait for it…$5.50!

Once we ate all the meatballs we could stuff in our faces, we strolled over to Jazmin Spa where I discovered the new “best deal in town.”  Molly got a kids pedicure complete with foot soak, nail trim and buff, lotion and polish all for $5. I am not kidding, I had to pick my jaw up off the ground. Only $5?!

Tiny toes, color a la Disney's Frozen

Tiny toes, color a la Disney’s Frozen

Happy girl, princess dress and all

Happy girl, princess dress and all

For those few precious hours, I honestly would have paid just about anything but the fact that our Molly/Mommy Date (that’s what we call our scarce outings together) came in under $25 once I tipped everyone was such a pleasant surprise.

It just goes to show you that even though you may think you know Decatur, there are little surprises to discover all of the time!

About Katie

A Decatur native, I joined the City of Decatur in June of 2010. I love everything about working for the City and especially enjoy watching our City grow and thrive. As the Special Events Coordinator, I am always looking for new and fresh ideas to bring to Decatur events. In my free time, I love spending time with my husband Mark and my kids, Molly and Griffin.
This entry was posted in Food & Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

